Kaus captures first Wednesday Travel League event of season | News, Sports, Jobs

WATERFORD, Pa. — Ken Kaus won his first Wednesday Travel League event of the season, posting the low round of 77 at The Ridge, formerly Crab Apple Ridge.

The victory was the third career for Kaus and matched his career low round in league play. Wayne Stoughton, Al Etzel, and Ed Tofil all tied for second place with 80s. Joe Bifaro and Mike Wolfe both shot 81s. Ed Tofil led the front nine with 38 while Kaus, Stoughton and John Tofil tied for the low back nine with 38. Robert Calph was the B Flight winner. In the C Flight, Lenny Leszkowicz had a par on the top handicap hole to win a four-way tiebreaker with Jack Hood, Pete Gawron and Jeff Marsowicz. The winner of the Bruce “Java” Chrabasz Commissioner’s Award was Bob Kujawa.

Untied birdies were recorded by: A Flight — Kaus (No. 5), Dave Criscione (Nos. 7, 11), Stoughton (No. 10), Wolfe (No. 12) and Ed Tofil (No. 17); B Flight — Bill Aldrich (No. 1), Mick Dunning Sr. (No. 2), Mike Willoughby (No. 5), Dave Wallace (No. 10), John Tofil (No. 12) and John Waterman (No. 15); C Flight — Gary Haase (No. 3), Dave Momberger (No. 4), Tim Walawender (Nos. 5, 16), Leszkowicz (No. 6), Dave Franklin (No. 9), Hood (No. 10), Gawron (No. 12) and Jim Ellman Sr. (No. 15).

Closest to the pin were Bifaro (No. 2), Ed Tofil (No. 8), Walawender (No. 11) and Hood (No. 15).

Top point winners were Criscione (37), Walawender (29), and Dunning, Waterman and Ellman (28 apiece). Season points leaders: 1. Stoughton (308), 2. Ed Tofil (280), 3. Wolfe (272), 4. Etzel (249), 5. Dunning (218), 6. Dennis Gawronski Sr. (216), 7. Criscione (202), 8. Wallace (187), 9. Waterman (185), 10. Bob Thompson (163).

Following golf, Frank Benamati held a par-3 closest to the pin contest honoring past league officers. Winners were: Bruce “Java” Chrabasz hole — Robert Calph; Ed “Butch” Mackowiak hole — Mike Wolfe; Frank Borowski hole — Pete Gawron.

Today, the league plays Byrncliff Resort in Varysburg. The first group tees off at 10:30 a.m.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox

You May Also Like

More From Author